h1

Red Head

April 24, 2009

She comes in and she wants me to color her RED. It’s her second time in my chair. First time with a client is a bit of a get to know you. Often times it’s just about building that trust. When they come back satisfied, that’s when the fun begins. She has a small black laptop. “Do you mind if I show you some pictures?” She asks. She has 4 inch natural ash regrowth and some old highlights busting through the midshaft.
She doesn’t know it yet but I love pictures. Certain stylists shy away from pictures. It’s usually either A. They do what they want and they don’t care what the client wants or B. They look at the picture and they can’t pull it off. Bring on the pictures! If a client brings me a picture 95% of the time it’s a celebrity. This was the exception. I got a few celebrities and a few non celebs. Enough to get the idea of what she is going for. “do you want it to whisper or scream?” I ask. From our consultation I gather that she wants a subtle red but nothing to flashy, natural, and she wants something warm. She has milky white skin, big beautiful blue eyes, and freckles. In a nutshell she was made to be red. I play it conservative lifting her base up one level with a copper natural and I add a dash of natural in the formula to counter act any orange underlying pigment that might show through. Rise it off. Looks good, really good actually….but it could be better. I layer on another coat of semi perm copper to give her some shine and add a dash more copper. I like to work reds in layers to add dimension even with a traditional single process. I cut a short Jen Garmer side swept fringe. I keep the layers long and classic with a slight face frame She has this great eyebrow arch on one eye. I had the bangs sweep away from so we could show it off. When we were done I thought she looked a bit like Jessica Stam. To maintain she needs a color safe shampoo or possibly a red tinted color shampoo and conditioner. . Marcia Cross told me she used to use Goldwell true copper shampoo. We carry Bumble and Bumble color support so I would suggest that a few times a week. I blew it out with a medium round brush and flat wrapped the fringe with a Paul Mitchell 413 brush. Finish the ends with a dab of brilliantine. It’s a shame she’s moving to Seattle I love doing reds. She wears it well.

3 comments

  1. One day in and I am loving the cut and color more by the minute! Thanks for doing such a terrific job — it looks totally fab đŸ™‚


  2. That is a really gorgeous cut / color. I wish I lived in Portland.


  3. So, for all of us who don’t live in Portland and have to accept the fact that you can’t cut our hair, how can we find a really good stylist/colorist. I mean really good. And, don’t tell us to find someone whose haircut you like and ask them who does it because it doesn’t work in Indiana.



Leave a comment